Wisconsin Schools of Character Committee

The Wisconsin Schools of Character Advisory Committee (WSOC) is responsible for the State Schools of Character Award Program and the Promising Practices Award Program. The State Schools of Character Award (SSOC) is sponsored in partnership with Character.org. The standards for selection and requirements are set by Character.org. This advisory committee is responsible for the organization and administration of these recognition programs. They also establish the criteria for the Wisconsin Promising Practices. The committee is responsible to have trained evaluators to review applications.

Maggie Broeren: Milwaukee College Prep School Outreach Coordinator; NSOC Award Recipient; SSOC Reviewer; Multi-year presenter at State Conference; Positive Person

Elaine Gehring: State Schools of Character Coordinator, WCEP Advisory Council, Retired educator–worked as elementary school principal and teacher, director of secular curriculum, and instructional coach

Joe Dannecker: Chairman. Former President Milwaukee School Board; Director on Wisconsin Association of School Boards. Lawyer in private practice

Jacques du Plessis: WCEP Advisory Council; Executive Board-Wisconsin Institute of Peace and Conflice Studies; Board of Directors-Pathways High School; Advisory Board-eAchieve Virtual High School; Advisory Board-Masters of Sustainable Peacebuilding; UWM, Asosociate Professor, UWM; Ombudsman and Mediator

Margee Tackes

Zehra Tahir: Member of the Executive Committee of the Islamic Society of Milwaukee (ISM), member of the ISM-Education Council, Islamic Studies Department Head and Teacher at Salam School

Pamela Woodard: Chief Facilitator/WCEP; Past co-chair of Southeastern Wisconsin Schools Alliance; Member of Whitefish Bay School Board